Listen to your Heart

Listen to your Heart

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
1
When Kate Bailey lets her best friend, Alana, talk her into joining their high school's podcast she did not expect to find herself as the host, or to enjoy answering calls and giving advice on the air, but she is actually pretty good at it--but when she gets an anonymous call from a boy (possibly Diego Martinez) about his secret feelings for a girl (probably Alana) she is faced with a problem, because she is developing feelings for Diego herself.
Publisher: New York, New York : Point, ©2018.
ISBN: 9781338210057
Characteristics: 329 pages ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
terryginz
Sep 10, 2019

Kasie West is my feel-good writer to go to. All the books that I have read so far from her, I have enjoyed them so much and they have made life seem more happy and dreamy. She creates these stories in very laid-back locations that I want to go for a vacation to a similar place. Her writing is simple but enjoyable and generally flows with the story.

This also made for an easy read that I really enjoyed. That podcast addition was a very nice touch and I liked how fun it was. I liked the big and close family just as most of Kasie West's books, we don't get to see this in a lot of other YA novels these days. I liked all the characters. But I would have liked to know more about Alana's family instead of just a couple sentences in the book. I also would have liked to know Diego and Frank's characters in depth.

In the beginning, I totally expected Kate to end up with Frank but halfway through I realised that was not the case so that's why I found the (not love triangle but a square?) a bit annoying towards the end but still I enjoyed the book and was not disappointed at the end.

3.5 stars

z
zoeythekat
Jan 04, 2019

Listen to Your Heart was as fun and endearing as any of West's books, and I really appreciated how full Kate's life was with her love of the lake, family, strong friendships, and effort to grow as a person by delving into new interests.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Nov 06, 2018

Kate would much rather ride her WaveRunner around the lake in solitude rather than hosting a podcast, but somehow that’s just what she was going to do for a whole semester. Joined by her best friend Alana, their podcast focuses on advice and receives live calls from viewers. Their first day turned out to be a bust, but it progressively improved, and so did Kate’s speaking skills. But that wasn’t the only thing that has changed after Kate started the podcast. Diego, her best friend’s crush, started calling in asking for advice on love hinting that he himself has a crush. At first, that was great news, since Kate was already helping Alana get closer to him. But soon, she realizes that she was falling for him the whole time. Is it worth Kate risking her relationship with her best friend for someone who probably doesn’t even love her? This was a really good book with all the character development and an interesting plot that kept me guessing ‘till the end. I really enjoyed the two main characters and really connected with Kate. However, it was a little predictable and some parts didn’t flow very smoothly. Rating:4/5
@Iron_Rose of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

g
gracebell28
Jul 28, 2018

i absolutely love this book! such a cute story about friendship and relationships! the ending is to die for and i think this is my favorite Kasie West book!!❤️❤️😭😭

OPL_KrisC Jul 19, 2018

A fun romance book about love and friendship along with secrets that could change everything. For fans of Jennie Han and Maurene Goo.

t
twhitehead24
Jul 13, 2018

When Kate is talked into taking a podcast class with her best friend, Alana, she would have never dreamed that she would be a host. Kate is not a people person, she is more of a "get on the lake and have fun by herself" person. Kate's family owns a marina on the lake. Alana is more of a people person and has a way with flirting with guys that Kate does not. When Kate finds she is falling for her best friend's crush, the predicament she is in becomes more interesting when "the crush" begins calling into the podcast "Not My Problem". You will have fun getting to know Kate, Alana, Diego (Alana's crush) and Frank (the rich boy). A great, fun and fast YA read. Perfect for the beach or just relaxing.

d
darladoodles
May 23, 2018

I have liked all the Kasie West books I have read so far, so I was looking forward to reading this new book and was not disappointed. Kate (Kat on the podcast) is a very likeable protagonist and the plot that develops brings to mind movies like Sleepless In Seattle and the Shakespeare play A Midsummer Night's Dream. There are missed cues and miscommunications, but all is worked out in the end like your favorite sitcom. A great summer read.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
OPL_KrisC Jul 19, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top